Reaction as Messi misses out on Federation Internationale de Football Association nomination

Adjust Comment Print

Messi and Ronaldo have been the only winners of world football's main individual award from FIFA since 2008. But who will it be?

There was some consolation for Messi as his World Cup goal against Nigeria made the list.

Speaking on Thursday, after beating Cristiano Ronaldo and Mohamed Salah to win the 2017-18 UEFA Player of the Year award, Modric said that he is was happy to continue Real Madrid.

Federation Internationale de Football Association has announced the official three-man shortlist for the award and snubbed superstar Lionel Messi.

Lopetegui agreed to join Real while still Spain coach and was sacked by the Federation on the eve of the World Cup for his decision.

Since then Real Madrid have won it three times on the trot with Ronaldo very much orchestrating those successes.

Progressive upstart Ayanna Pressley defeats incumbent in Massachusetts Democratic primary
She is poised to become the only black member of Massachusetts' mostly male congressional delegation. Kennedy, delivered the Democratic response to Trump's State of the Union address earlier this year.

Cristiano Ronaldo is in the top 10 thanks to his overhead kick against Juventus for former club Real Madrid.

And even when he did win, he did so purely on the merit of leading Real Madrid to the Champions League title.

Salah's strike in last December's Merseyside derby also makes the shortlist, with users voting for the victor.

Fifa's women's player of the year finalists include Brazil's Marta (Vieira da Silva) and Olympique Lyonnais teammates Ada Hegerberg, a striker with Norway, and German captain Dzsenifer Marozsan. On the other hand, his mate during Real Madrid days, Modric makes it to the Final 3 with getting the Champions League victor tag and of course the runner-up at this years' FIFA World Cup. Pep Guardiola of Manchester City was not shortlisted.

The three coaches bidding for the women's game award are Asako Takakura, who led Japan to the Asian Games title last week, Reynald Pedros of France and Sarina Wiegman of the Netherlands.