Ireland makes Eurovision final for first time in five years

Adjust Comment Print

It's the first time for Portugal to host the competition, after Salvador Sobral won the contest past year.

Jon Ola Sand, Executive Supervisor of the Junior Eurovision Song Contest, explained about Belarus' broadcaster, BTRC, hosting the show: "We chose to give the host broadcaster more time to prepare for the event, that's why we announced it earlier".

This week, O'Shaughnessy performed together at the Eurovision semi-final, and according to the Guardian he was the "great surprise" of the night.

THE publication of a photograph of Spain's Alfred and Amaia taken during rehearsals for the Eurovision Song Contest nearly led to the country being expelled from the competition on Saturday. Former Britain's Got Talent finalist Ryan O'Shaughnessy will represent Ireland with the song Together.

When she walked the blue carpet for the opening of this year's Eurovision Song Contest in Lisbon on Sunday, she acknowledged throwing her whole body into that flick was a health hazard.

Among those sending their well wishes to Ryan following the news are past Ireland Eurovision representatives Nicky Byrne, Brendan Murray and Dustin the Turkey.

Thousands in Jakarta protest US Embassy move to Jerusalem
The Gaza leader of the Hamas militant group has suggested tens of thousands of Palestinians could storm into Israel on Monday. Meanwhile, Gaza government officials announced that Egypt will open its border with Gaza for four days starting Saturday.

But there was a lot of suspense, as the Irish entry was the very last of the ten countries to go through.

The singer-songwriter SuRie was the surprise victor of the Eurovision: You Decide contest, beating heavy favourite Asanda to become the UK's 2018 entry.

Portugal is hosting the competition for the first time.

"I think because we have now delivered in a row, they're like, oh, they've come to play, they don't dick around, they're taking this seriously", Creasey says.

The first semi-final takes place on May 8, and sees 19 contestants vie for the first 10 spots in the Final.

'I still really do s**t myself, ' she said. Many now compare this semi final to the shock semi in 2011, when Armenia, Turkey and Norway all got eliminated.