JD(S)' secret weapon to defeat Congress this Karnataka Assembly Election

Adjust Comment Print

In the previous state elections, the Congress had defeated the then incumbent BJP, winning 122 of the 224 seats.

The party had also asserted that neither its leader Rahul Gandhi nor the party ever used the phrase. This though has not come true as both parties have harped only on winnability as the sole criterion and given a go-by to principles and discipline.

In turn, many influential Lingayat mathas (monasteries) have promised to back Siddaramaiah and the Congress.

Kumar Bangarappa quit the Congress previous year and joined the BJP.

In Karnataka where most predictions are favouring a hung assembly, Prime Minister Narendra Modi is expected to launch a campaign blitzkrieg on April 29 for the BJP, which seems to be finding it tough to carry on its "Congress Mukt" campaign in this sourthern state.

On 9 April the BJP had released the first list of 72 candidates.

SpaceX launches NASA's planet-finding spacecraft TESS
Musk wants to slow the upper stage down during reentry and target a landing aboard a "catcher ship" like the boat, known as Mr. If all goes as planned, the Transiting Exoplanet Survey Satellite should lift off Wednesday as early as 3:51 p.m.

P Ramesh, a Congress ticket aspirant from C V Raman Nagar constituency who lost the polls in 2008 and 2013; former BJP minister Hemachandra Sagar; Congress leaders G H Ramachandra and Hanumantharayappa officially joined the JDS on Tuesday.

The party high command has agreed to field his son Yatindra from his home constituency this time. The BJP has not announced its candidate against the chief minister.

The date of notification is April 17 and the last date to file nominations is April 24.

Siddaramaiah who was elected MLA twice from Varuna has moved to Chamundeshwari, where he is running against GT Deve Gowda of the JD (S) who won the last election from here.

Otr prominent candidates in the second list are former BJP Ministers Murgesh Nirani, Hartalu Halappa, M.P. Renukacharya, Krishnaiah Shetty, and K. Subramanya Naidu and Kumar Bangarappa, who switched over from the ruling Congress and is the son of former Chief Minister S. Bangarappa.

As part of Basava Jayanti, the birth anniversary of 12th century social reformer Basaveshwara, Mr Shah and BJP Karnataka Unit President B S Yeddyurappa would garland the statue of Basaveshwara in the city tomorrow.