Option open for Siddaramaiah to contest from Badami too

Adjust Comment Print

During his visit to Karnataka on April 7 and 8, Congress president Rahul Gandhi too had deliberated on the names of candidates and their ability to win.

A "fake" list of Congress candidates for the upcoming assembly elections in Karnataka is being circulated on social media. The high-level meeting was chaired by party president Amit Shah, and the attendees included Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Home Minister Rajnath Singh, External Affairs Minister Sushma Swaraj, former Karnataka chief minister B S Yeddyurappa, among others.

HT Report: Real Madrid 0-0 Atletico
Gareth Bale , Lucas Vazquez and Maro Asensio are all in line for a start, with Isco, Luka Modric and Karim Benzema all rested. Cristiano Ronaldo scored in a 10th straight game for Real Madrid - but they were held to a derby draw by Atletico Madrid .

In the final stages of deciding its candidates for the high stakes Karnataka elections, the Congress is toying with the idea of fielding incumbent chief minister Siddaramaiah from two seats. The candidate's names were made public following a meeting of the BJP's Central Election Committee at the party headquarters in Delhi. Now the screening committee meetings are going on and any list regarding the same will be released only after Central Election Committee meeting. Veteran Congress leader H Vishwanath another Kuruba leader who has joined the JDs along with another dalit leader V Srinivas Prasad who has joined BJP after rebelling against Siddaramaiah have owed to defeat Siddaramaiah as part of Mysore politics. The BJP has already announced its first list of candidates for the Karnataka polls to be held on May 12. Opposing this move, Mr Puttabudhdhi, member of the state-level committee of the Sabha said Mr Basavaraj and three office bearers of the Sabha, T.S. Lokesh, Chandrashekar and Guruswamy, have been dismissed. The 224-member Assembly expires on May 28 in the state where the Congress is now in power, with 122 seats against the BJP's 43.