All you need to know about today's Rajya Sabha polls

Adjust Comment Print

March 24 (ANI): Reacting to the results of Rajya Sabha polls in Uttar Pradesh, Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) leader Mayawati on Saturday aimed a jibe at the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), claiming their "malpractices" will not weaken the newly formed Samajwadi Party (SP)-BSP alliance.

In Uttar Pradesh, the party ensured the defeat of the Bahujan Samaj Party's candidate Bhimrao Ambedkar, with BSP leader Anil Kumar Singh voting for Anil Agarwal, a BJP-backed independent candidate.

The Left Democratic Front-backed Independent candidate, M.P. Veerendrakumar, was declared elected to the Rajya Sabha in the elections held for the lone seat from Kerala on Friday. The reason for that is, any bill which is introduced by the government in Lok Sabha, has to be passed by it with majority and if passed then it needs to get approval from the Upper House of the Parliament, Rajya Sabha. The SP had won one seat.

BJP and its allies have 324 MLAs in the 403-member UP Assembly. The BJP has also added weight to its presence in the state as Finance Minister Arun Jaitley is among the nine who were elected from the state. The outcome, however, did not throw up any surprises, with Congress winning 3 seats and the remaining one going to BJP's Rajeev Chandrashekhar. The BSP, which has only 19 MLAs in the House, needed additional numbers to get Ambedkar elected against the BJP's Anil Agarwal. But it seemed that the contest would be a close neck-to-neck between the ninth BJP and the BSP candidate in fray and the counting process could go up the several round of preference votes. BSP's Unnao legislator Anil Singh also cross-voted in favour of the BJP.

The SP-BSP started with a setback as one SP and one BSP MLAs in jail were denied permission by the court to vote. He said he was voting for the SP and not the BSP candidate.

Federal funding measure approved to avoid government shutdown
Trump himself cancelled the de facto amnesty - known as DACA - but has repeatedly tried to pin the blame on Democrats. This would fund the federal government until 30 September, and avert another government shutdown.

In all the elections held for 25 seats on Friday, BJP won 12, Congress managed five, Trinamool gained four, Telangana Rashtra Samiti three and the Samajwadi Party one.

Of the three Congress candidates, G C Chandrashekar, political secretary to KPCC president G Parameshwara, the party's third candidate, polled the highest number of votes (46). It chose to transfer 17 superfluous votes in favour of the Congress. Two Congress MLAs could not vote as they were serving an expulsion term for throwing headphones as missiles during the state governors address.

In Jharkhand, the BJP was able to get Samir Uraon elected but in the contest between two millionaires - BJP's Pradeep Senthalia and Congress' Dheeraj Sahu - the latter emerged the victor. Thanks to its landslide win in last year's assembly polls, BJP had enough votes to secure 8 of the 10 seats which were up for grabs in UP.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) made significant gains after the conclusion of the biennial elections to the Rajya Sabha on Friday.

In Jharkhand, the BJP's Sameer Uranv and the Congress's Dheeraj Sahu won the two Rajya Sabha seats from Jharkhand, said media reports.