Tripura's youth hopes new govt will live up to expectations

Adjust Comment Print

BJP's Tripura state in charge, Sunil Deodhar, is apprehensive of the septic tanks inside the houses allotted to his party's newly-elected MLAs as he fears that they might be contaminated. Glad to have joined the ceremony in Agartala today.

The SIT led by Nath has so far arrested several people, including four TSR personnel who include TSR 2nd Battalion Commandant Tapan Debbarma, who is a senior Tripura Police Service (TPS) officer and waiting for IPS nomination.

BJP chief Amit Shah said, "This new Tripura government would usher in a new age of cooperation and help fulfill all expectations of the people to make it a modern state".

After oath taking ceremony of Shri Biplab Deb as the Chief Minister of Tripura and other ministers, PM Narendra Modi today addressed a gathering at Tripura.

Deb said, "My gesture of touching Manik Sarkar's feet during the swearing-in function was because I respect our tradition and we need the experience of a veteran leader like him to run the show in Tripura".

Biplab, the new CM of the state, hails from Bangladesh's Chandpur.

Kenyan president and opposition leader meet in bid to heal divisions
Mr Odinga boycotted the repeat election in October, saying adequate electoral reforms had not been made. Another man, Philip Ndung'u, also seemed encouraged by the leaders' meeting.

Even though the Congress did well in Meghalaya, where it won 21 of the 59 contested seats, the government was formed by the Meghalaya Democratic Alliance where the National People's Party which won 19 seats aligned with the United Democratic Party that secured 6 seats, and Hill State People's Democratic Party with its 2 seats. Urging people's support, Modi said the state may have inexperience government but has the passion to develop the state at the rapid rate.

Jishnu Deb Burman also took oath as deputy chief minister of Tripura. "But we expect that the agenda of development will not be sidelined for other political factors and that Tripura will progress".

Prime minister Narendra Modi, BJP chief Amit Shah, Union ministers and BJP chief ministers attended the swearing-in ceremony.

The CPI (M) managed to bag 16 seats in the 60-member assembly.

Meanwhile, the CPI (M) approached Chief Election Commissioner Om Prakash Rawat demanding the postponement of election to the Charilam constituency in Tripura till "peace and normalcy is restored" in the State.