Nepal gets a new Prime Minister

Adjust Comment Print

Known for his pro-China stance, 65-year-old Oli had earlier served as the country's prime minister from 2015 to 2016 during which Kathmandu's ties with New Delhi had strained.

The entry of new Nepali Prime Minister has finally arrived as the Nepali Congress leader and current Prime Minister Sher Bahadur Deuba resigned from his office on February 15, 2018. President Bidhya Devi Bhandari administered oath of office and secrecy to Oli along with two ministers, Lalbabu Pandit and Tham Maya Thapa.

Nepal held parliamentary elections in November and December but the formation of the new government had been delayed because the Election Commission declined to declare the final results until the election of the upper house of parliament, which was held last week.

This will be Oli's second stint as prime minister.

Following his swearing in, Oli formed a small Cabinet inducting two ministers from his Communist Party of Nepal (Unified Marxist-Leninist).

The Left alliance has already presented its claim for the new government to the President presenting UML Chairman KP Sharma Oli as the new Prime Minister.

ISIS Terrorist Sentenced To Life In Prison For New York Bombings
Rahimi is a naturalized USA citizen who was born in Afghanistan and lived in Elizabeth, N.J. Prosecutors describe him as acting alone, inspired by terrorist propaganda on the Internet.

UML Chair KP Oli was sworn in as Nepal's new Prime Minister on Thursday.

Nepal successfully held three-tier elections of local bodies, provinces and parliament in 2017 under the leadership of Deuba, giving high expectations that the country will usher in much-needed political stability and development.

In 1970, Oli became a member of the Nepal Communist Party and began an underground life, as the erstwhile royal regime cracked down on communists.

The constitution also has fixed the number of ministers in the centre with a number limit of 25 seats inclusive of Prime Minister, Deputy Prime Minister, Ministers, State Ministers and Minister Aide.

He was elected as a member of Parliament in the House of Representatives for the first time from Jhapa district in 1991.